

June 20, 2016

BAY AREA
AIR QUALITY

MANAGEMENT

DISTRICT

Ms. Deborah Jordan Director, Air Division

United States Environmental Protection Agency

75 Hawthorne Street San Francisco, CA 94105

Subject: Proposed Minor Revision to the Major Facility Review Permit for

Browning-Ferris Industries of CA, Inc. Facility No: A2266, Application 26101

Dear Ms. Jordan:

This is to advise you that the Bay Area Air Quality Management District is proposing a minor revision to the Major Facility Review Permit for the Browning-Ferris Industries of CA, Inc. and is submitting the permit to EPA for review.

The purpose of this minor permit revision is to make the following changes to the permit:

- Revise Responsible Official, District Permit Contact, and District address
- Update description of landfill gas collection system
- Add alternative wellhead standards and operating criteria for specific wells
- Revise landfill gas sulfur and toxic air contaminant concentration limits
- Revise landfill gas throughput limits for the enclosed flares
- Reduce gasoline throughput limit for a non-retail gasoline dispensing facility

All proposed revisions are described in the attached Statement of Basis.

The proposed Major Facility Review Permit and the Statement of Basis can be viewed on the BAAQMD website at:

http://www.baaqmd.gov/permits/major-facility-review-title-v/title-v-permits. We will also send the documents to you via the Electronic Permit Submittal System. If you have any questions regarding this project, please contact Dennis Jang, Senior Air Quality Engineer, at (415) 749-4707 or djang@baaqmd.gov.

Sincerely,

Signed by Jaime A. Williams
Jaime A. Williams
Director of Engineering

ALAMEDA COUNTY

Tom Bates Scott Haggerty Rebecca Kaplan Nate Miley

CONTRA COSTA COUNTY

John Gioia David Hudson (Secretary) Karen Mitchoff Mark Ross

MARIN COUNTY Katie Rice

NAPA COUNTY Brad Wagenknecht

SAN FRANCISCO COUNTY

John Avalos Edwin M. Lee Eric Mar (Chair)

SAN MATEO COUNTY

David J. Canepa Carole Groom Warren Slocum

SANTA CLARA COUNTY

Cindy Chavez Liz Kniss (Vice-Chair) Jan Pepper Rod G. Sinks

SOLANO COUNTY

James Spering Osby Davis

SONOMA COUNTY Teresa Barrett Shirlee Zane

Jack P. Broadbent **EXECUTIVE OFFICER/APCO**

JAW:dtj

Connect with the Bay Area Air District:









Spare the Air