BAY AREA AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT DISTRICT

RESOLUTION NO. 2022 - 02

A Resolution Accepting Clean Cars for All Program funds From the California Air Resources Board

WHEREAS, the purpose of this Resolution is to authorize the Bay Area Air Quality Management District (Air District) to accept, obligate, and expend up to \$6.7 million in additional funding from the California Air Resources Board (CARB) to administer the Bay Area Clean Cars For All Program and to authorize the Executive Officer/Air Pollution Control Officer to execute all necessary agreements, required documents, and amendments required to expend this funding;

WHEREAS, the California Legislature added item 3900-101-3228 to Section 2.00 of the Budget Act of 2021 which directed at least \$75 million of the Low Carbon Transportation appropriation be allocated for the Clean Cars For All Program (previously named the EFMP and EFMP Plus-up Program), a vehicle retirement and replacement program;

WHEREAS, in December 2021, CARB staff notified the Air District that they will award up to \$6.7 million in Fiscal Year (FY) 2021-2022 Low Carbon Transportation Funds to the Air District's Bay Area Clean Cars For All Program;

WHEREAS, CARB will authorize a grant of up to \$6.7 million to the Air District to continue to implement the Bay Area Clean Cars For All program, upon approval by the Board of Directors to accept such grant of funds;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Directors hereby approves the Air District's acceptance of CARB funds and commits the Air District to comply with the CARB Clean Cars For All regulatory requirements.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the Executive Officer/Air Pollution Control Officer to accept, obligate, and execute all agreements, required documents, and any amendments thereto to implement and carry out the purposes of this resolution.

The foregoing resolution was duly regularly introduced, passed, and adopted at a regular meeting of the Board of Directors of the Bay Area Air Quality Management District on the motion of <u>VICE CHAIR BAUTERS</u>, seconded by <u>DIRECTOR ABE-KOGA</u>, on the 19TH day of JANUARY 2022, by the following vote of the Board:

AYES:

MARGARET ABE-KOGA, TERESA BARRETT, JOHN BAUTERS, DAVID CANEPA, RICH CONSTANTINE, PAULINE RUSSO CUTTER, JOHN GIOIA, CAROLE GROOM, ERIN HANNIGAN, LYNDA HOPKINS, DAVINA HURT, TYRONE JUE, KAREN MITCHOFF, ROB RENNIE, KATIE RICE, MARK ROSS, BRAD WAGENKNECHT, AND SHAMANN WALTON.

NOES:

NONE.

ABSENT:

CINDY CHAVEZ, DAVID HAUBERT, DAVID HUDSON, MYRNA

MELGAR, NATE MILEY, AND LORI WILSON.

ABSTAIN: NONE.

Karen Mitchoff

Chair of the Board of Directors

ATTEST:

Davina Hurt Secretary of the Board of Directors