BAY AREA AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT DISTRICT

RESOLUTION NO. 2021-03

A Resolution Committing Matching Funds in Support of the Center for Transportation and the Environment's Application to the California Energy Commission's Zero-Emission Drayage Truck and Infrastructure Pilot Project

WHEREAS, the purpose of this Resolution is to authorize the Bay Area Air Quality Management District (Air District) to commit up to \$7,000,000 as matching funds for a project that will deploy up to 30 zero-emission hydrogen fuel cell trucks and to authorize the Executive Officer/Air Pollution Control Officer to execute all necessary agreements, amendments, and other documents required to award this funding. This Resolution will also authorize the District to accept, obligate, and expend up to \$3,640,000 from the Alameda County Transportation Commission (ACTC) and obligate and expend up to \$3,360,000 in funding from the Transportation Fund for Clean Air (TFCA);

WHEREAS, on November 19, 2020, the California Energy Commission (CEC) and California Air Resources Board (CARB) released a grant solicitation, GFO-20-606, entitled "Zero-Emission Drayage Truck and Infrastructure Pilot Project" under the CEC's Clean Transportation Program and CARB's FY2019-20 Funding Plan for Clean Transportation Incentives;

WHEREAS, in 1990, the California Legislature authorized the Air District to impose a \$4 surcharge on motor vehicles registered within the Bay Area to fund projects that reduce on-road motor vehicle emissions:

WHEREAS, the Legislature has authorized, through the adoption and amendment of Health and Safety Code sections 44241, the expenditure of local motor vehicle surcharge revenues for projects that reduce vehicle emissions, and the District funds such projects through its TFCA that meet program requirements and meet cost-effectiveness limits;

WHEREAS, the CTE submitted an application to the GFO-20-606 grant solicitation, entitled NorCAL Drayage, which will deploy 30 zero-emission hydrogen fuel cell trucks that will be domiciled near the Port of Oakland and be operated throughout northern California;

WHEREAS, Air District staff evaluated CTE's application to GFO-20-606 and found that the project would result in criteria emission reductions from on-road vehicles and qualify for up to \$3,360,000 from the TFCA;

WHEREAS, ACTC has committed to providing \$3,640,000 in matching funds for CTE's NorCal Drayage Truck application and requested the Air District to serve as the fiscal agent;

WHEREAS, on April 5, 2021, the CEC and CARB informed CTE that their NorCAL Drayage application was selected for award in the amount of \$17,165,729;

WHEREAS, CEC and CARB requires a Resolution from the Air District Board of Directors to show a commitment of matching funds;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Directors hereby approves the Air District to accept, obligate, and expend up to \$3,640,000 funds from ACTC that will be provided to the Air District to use as matching funds in support of this project.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Board of Directors hereby approves the award to CTE for up to \$7,000,000. This award includes the obligation of up to \$3,360,000 from the TFCA and \$3,640,000 from the ACTC, for the project that will deploy up to 30 zero-emission trucks.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Board of Directors hereby authorizes the Executive Officer/Air Pollution Control Officer to execute all agreements, required documents, and any amendments thereto to implement and carry out the purposes of this resolution.

The foregoing resolution was duly and regularly introduced, passed and adopted at a regular meeting of the Board of Directors of the Bay Area Air Quality Management District on the Motion of DIRECTOR CUTTER, seconded by DIRECTOR WILSON, on the day of May 5th, 2021, by the following vote of the Board:

AYES: MARGARET ABE-KOGA, JOHN BAUTERS, DAVID CANEPA, CINDY CHAVEZ, RICH CONSTANTINE, PAULINE CUTTER, JOHN GIOIA, CAROLE GROOM, ERIN HANNIGAN, LYNDA HOPKINS, DAVID HUDSON, DAVINA HURT, TYRONE JUE, MYRNA MELGAR, NATE MILEY, KAREN MITCHOFF, KATIE RICE, MARK ROSS, BRAD WAGENKNECHT, SHAMANN WALTON, LORI WILSON.

NOES: NONE.

ABSTAIN: NONE.

ABSENT: TERESA BARRETT, DAVID HAVBERT, ROB RENNIE.

Cindy Chavez

Chair of the Board of Directors

ATTEST:

John Bauters

Secretary of the Board of Directors