Bay Area Air Quality Management District 375 Beale Street, Suite 600 San Francisco, California 94105 (415) 749-5073

APPROVED MINUTES

Summary of Board of Directors

Mobile Source and Climate Impacts Committee Meeting

Thursday, May 27, 2021

This meeting was conducted under procedures authorized by executive order N-29-20 issued by Governor Gavin Newsom. Members of the Committee participated by teleconference.

1. CALL TO ORDER – ROLL CALL

Mobile Source and Climate Impacts Committee (Committee) Co-Chairperson, Katie Rice, called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

Present: Co-Chairpersons David Canepa and Katie Rice; and Directors John Gioia,

Lynda Hopkins, David Hudson, Davina Hurt, Karen Mitchoff, and Lori

Wilson.

Absent: Vice Chairperson Rob Rennie; Directors Margaret Abe-Koga, and Pauline

Russo Cutter.

Also Present: None.

2. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF MEETING OF APRIL 22, 2021

Public Comments

No requests received.

Committee Comments

None.

Committee Action

Co-Chair Canepa made a motion, seconded by Director Mitchoff, to **approve** the Minutes of the Meeting of April 22, 2021; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Canepa, Gioia, Hopkins, Hudson, Hurt, Mitchoff, Rice, Wilson.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Abe-Koga, Cutter, Rennie.

3. PROJECTS AND CONTRACTS WITH PROPOSED GRANT AWARDS OVER \$100,000

Ken Mak, Supervising Staff Specialist, gave the staff presentation *Projects and Contracts with Proposed Awards over \$100,000*, including: outcome; outline; requested action; Carl Moyer Program (CMP)/Mobile Source Incentive Fund (MSIF), Community Air Protection Program (CAPP), and Funding Agricultural Replacement Measures for Emissions Reductions (FARMER); TFCA; incentive funding awarded and recommended since July 2020 by revenue source, project category, and county; and feedback requested/prompt.

Public Comments

Public comments were given by Sara Greenwald, 350 Bay Area; Michael Stevenson, San Mateo County Transit District; and Erik Zandhuis, Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority.

Committee Comments

The Committee and staff discussed the current allocation status of Air District grant programs (CMP, CHP, FARMER, TFCA); the effectiveness of last-mile shuttle projects, and whether other projects might be considered to close last-mile gaps; committee members' desire to see more projects in which old diesel engines are replaced with electric vehicles, rather than with new diesel engines, especially regarding fleet and agricultural vehicles; concern about the lack of city and county applications; the availability of heavy duty zero-emissions vehicles and agricultural equipment; concerns about how emissions from marine vessel engine replacement and other projects are apportioned by county; ways in which the COVID-19 pandemic has hindered potential applicants and whether application extensions are being considered by the Air District; and the request that details on 'communities of concern' be given to the Air District's Community Equity, Health, and Justice Committee for further examination.

Committee Action

Director Hudson made a motion, seconded by Director Hurt, to recommend the Board **approve** recommended projects with proposed grant awards over \$100,000 Authorize the Executive Officer/Air Pollution Control Officer (APCO) to enter into all necessary agreements with applicants for the recommended projects; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Canepa, Gioia, Hopkins, Hudson, Hurt, Mitchoff, Rice, Wilson.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Abe-Koga, Cutter, Rennie.

4. UPDATES TO THE TRANSPORTATION FUND FOR CLEAN AIR REGIONAL FUND POLICIES AND EVALUATION CRITERIA FOR FISCAL YEAR ENDING (FYE) 2022

Linda Hui, Senior Staff Specialist, gave the staff presentation *Updates to the Transportation Fund* for Clean Air Regional Fund Policies & Evaluation Criteria for FYE 2022, including: outcome;

outline; requested action; TFCA background; public outreach process; proposed updates; and feedback requested/prompt.

Public Comments

Public comments were given by Emily Beaulac, Presidio Trust.

Committee Comments

The Committee and staff discussed whether projects may be co-funded by grants from multiple air districts; the current language for Policy #7 (Maximum Grant Amount); the proposed update to Policy #26 (Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure); and whether TFCA is a funding source that may support capital funding for micro transit projects.

Committee Action

Director Mitchoff made a motion, seconded by Director Hudson, to recommend the Board **approve** the proposed updates to FYE 2022 TFCA Regional Fund Policies and Evaluation Criteria for FYE 2022; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Canepa, Gioia, Hopkins, Hudson, Hurt, Mitchoff, Rice, Wilson.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Abe-Koga, Cutter, Rennie.

5. PLAN BAY AREA 2050 UPDATE

Greg Nudd, APCO of Policy, introduced Monte Di Palma, Senior Air Quality Engineer, who have the staff presentation *Plan Bay Area 2050*, including: outcome; outline; requested action; background; advancing equity; Plan Bay Area 2050 highlights; key intersections with Air District work; transportation and equity; building decarbonization; clean vehicles and reducing vehicle miles traveled; and next steps.

Public Comments

No requests received.

Committee Comments

The Committee and staff discussed whether the Air District's incentive and grant programs have been repositioned to enhance Plan Bay Area 2050; how electric bus range may result in the demand for more hydrogen and other renewable fuel vehicles; and the outreach efforts for Plan Bay Area 2050.

Committee Action

None; receive and file.

6. PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA MATTERS

No requests received.

7. COMMITTEE MEMBER COMMENTS

None.

8. TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING

Thursday, June 24, 2021, at 9:30 a.m., via webcast, pursuant to procedures authorized by Executive Order N-29-20 issued by Governor Gavin Newsom.

9. ADJOURNMENT

Co-Chair Rice adjourned the meeting at 11:06 a.m., in memory of the Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority victims, whose lives were taken on May 26, 2021.

/S/ Marcy Hiratzka
Marcy Hiratzka
Clerk of the Boards