Bay Area Air Quality Management District 375 Beale Street, Suite 600 San Francisco, California 94105 (415) 749-5073

#### **APPROVED MINUTES**

Summary of Board of Directors Personnel Committee Meeting Monday, October 5, 2020

This meeting was conducted under procedures authorized by executive order N-29-20 issued by Governor Gavin Newsom. Members of the committee participated by teleconference.

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER – ROLL CALL

Personnel Committee (Committee) Chairperson, Jim Spering, called the meeting to order at 9:04 a.m.

Present: Chairperson Jim Spering; Committee Vice Chairperson Brad Wagenknecht;

and Directors Teresa Barrett, Cindy Chavez, Scott Haggerty, David Hudson,

Tyrone Jue, Nate Miley, Karen Mitchoff, Katie Rice.

Absent: Director Carole Groom.

Also Present: Board Chairperson Rod Sinks.

## 2. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF MAY 27, 2020

#### **Public Comments**

No requests received.

## **Committee Comments**

None.

## **Committee Action**

Director Mitchoff made a motion, seconded by Director Hudson to approve the minutes of May 27, 2020; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Hudson, Jue, Miley, Mitchoff, Spering.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Barrett, Chavez, Groom, Haggerty, Rice, Sinks, Wagenknecht.

# 3. CONDUCT INTERVIEWS AND CONSIDER RECOMMENDING BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPROVAL OF CANDIDATES FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE AIR DISTRICT'S HEARING BOARD

Rex Sanders, Chief Administrative Officer, gave the staff presentation *Conduct Interviews and Consider Recommending Appointment to the Hearing Board*, including: overview; background; members; recruitment; and interviews and discussion.

NOTED PRESENT: Directors Chavez and Rice were noted present at 9:11 a.m.; Director Haggerty was noted present at 9:20 a.m.; and Board Chair Sinks, Committee Vice Chair Wagenknecht, and Director Barrett were noted present at 9:30 a.m.

The Committee conducted interviews with the following Hearing Board member candidates:

Elham Sakhaee

Danny Cullenward

Richard Burnett

Rebecca Skinner

Barbara Coler

Qian Tan

Debra McDonald

Natasha Fooman

**Amelia Timbers** 

Terry Trumbull

Barbara Toole O'Neil

David Conrad

#### **Public Comments**

No requests received.

## **Committee Comments**

The Committee and staff discussed consistent absences of alternate Hearing Board members; whether individuals who have previously served as Hearing Board members should be considered again; and the vacancy in the Alternate member's seat in the Attorney category, should Danny Cullenward's be appointed as a principal member.

#### Committee Action

Vice Chair Wagenknecht made a motion, seconded by Director Jue, to recommend the Board's approval of the appointment of David Conrad as Medical Alternate; the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Barrett, Chavez, Haggerty, Hudson, Jue, Miley, Mitchoff, Rice, Sinks,

Spering, Wagenknecht.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None. ABSENT: Groom. Vice Chair Wagenknecht made a motion, seconded by Director Jue, to recommend the Board's approval of the appointment of:

- 1. The appointment of Danny Cullenward as Public category Principal;
- 2. The appointment of Barbara Toole O'Neil as Public category Principal;
- 3. The appointment of Amelia Timber as Public category Alternate; and
- 4. The appointment of Qian Tan as Public category Alternate.

The motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Barrett, Chavez, Haggerty, Hudson, Jue, Miley, Mitchoff, Rice, Sinks,

Spering, Wagenknecht.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None. ABSENT: Groom.

### 4. PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA MATTERS

No requests received.

#### 5. COMMITTEE MEMBER COMMENTS / OTHER BUSINESS

None.

#### 6. TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT COMMITTEE MEETING

At the conclusion of the meeting, it was announced that the next meeting would be at the Call of the Chair. After the meeting adjourned, the Personnel Committee became part of the Administration Committee, which would first meet on Wednesday, February 17, 2021, at 9:30 a.m., via webcast, pursuant to procedures authorized by Executive Order N-29-20 issued by Governor Gavin Newsom.

## 7. **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting adjourned at 11:52 a.m.

/S/ Marcy Hiratzka
Marcy Hiratzka
Clerk of the Boards