Bay Area Air Quality Management District 375 Beale Street, Suite 600 San Francisco, California 94105 (415) 749-5073

#### APPROVED MINUTES

Summary of Board of Directors Mobile Source Committee Meeting Wednesday, April 22, 2020

This meeting was conducted under procedures authorized by executive order N-29-20 issued by Governor Gavin Newsom. Members of the committee participated by teleconference.

## 1. CALL TO ORDER – ROLL CALL

Mobile Source Committee (Committee) Chairperson, David Canepa, called the meeting to order at 2:02 p.m.

Present: Chairperson David Canepa; Vice Chair Tyrone Jue; and Directors Scott

Haggerty, David Hudson, Liz Kniss, Karen Mitchoff, Katie Rice, and Lori

Wilson.

Absent: Director Pauline Russo Cutter.

Also Present: Board Chairperson Rod Sinks.

## 2. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF MARCH 25, 2020

## **Public Comments**

No requests received.

#### **Committee Comments**

None.

#### Committee Action

Director Kniss made a motion, seconded by Director Haggerty, to **approve** the Minutes of March 25, 2020; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Canepa, Haggerty, Hudson, Jue, Kniss, Mitchoff, Rice, Sinks, Wilson.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None. ABSENT: Cutter.

# 3. PROJECTS AND CONTRACTS WITH PROPOSED GRANT AWARDS OVER \$100,000

Karen Schkolnick Director of the Strategic Incentives Division, gave the staff presentation *Projects and Contracts with Proposed Awards Over \$100,000*, including: overview; Carl Moyer Program (CMP) and Mobile Source Incentive Fund (MSIF); Community Health Protection Grant Program (CHP); CMP, MSIF, CHP project recommendations over \$100,000; Transportation Fund for Clean Air (TFCA); Reformulated Gasoline (RFG) Settlement Fund; status of incentive funding awarded since July 2019 by funding source; funds recommended and awarded since July 2019 by project category and county; status of solicitations; and recommended actions.

## **Public Comments**

No requests received.

## **Committee Comments**

The Committee and staff discussed the infrastructure the Air District is funding at San Francisco International Airport; whether outreach methods to potential applicants are being impacted by sheltering in place and working remotely; whether a vendor has been selected for Alameda-Contra Costa Transit District's replacement of diesel buses with 40 zero-emission buses and their associated infrastructure; whether any manufacturers make hydrogen buses; and the suggestion that the Air District funds only American bus manufacturers to stimulate domestic industry.

## **Committee Action**

Director Haggerty made a motion, seconded by Director Hudson, to recommend that the Board **approve** staff recommendations; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Canepa, Haggerty, Hudson, Jue, Kniss, Mitchoff, Rice, Sinks, Wilson.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None. ABSENT: Cutter.

## 4. VEHICLE BUY-BACK (VBB) PROGRAM CONTRACTOR SELECTION

Ms. Schkolnick gave the staff presentation *Selection of Vehicle Buy-Back Program Contractors*, including: overview; background; funding sources; program results since 1996; Request for Proposal (RFP) process; dismantler RFP results and locations; Direct Mail Services RFP results; and recommended actions.

#### **Public Comments**

No requests received.

## **Committee Comments**

The Committee and staff discussed the intended function of the direct mail service contractor; the Air District's methods of public outreach for the VBB program; the number of VBB program applications submitted each year; whether the Air District has ever depleted its VBB program funds within a given funding cycle; and what capacity dismantling contractors have to handle spikes in vehicle retirement activity.

## Committee Action

Director Haggerty made a motion, seconded by Director Hudson, to recommend that the Board **approve** the selection of the highest-ranking bidders and awards of contracts for the implementation of the Air District's Vehicle Buy-Back Program; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Canepa, Haggerty, Hudson, Jue, Kniss, Mitchoff, Rice, Sinks, Wilson.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None. ABSENT: Cutter.

## 5. FISCAL YEAR ENDING (FYE) 2021 TRANSPORTATION FUND FOR CLEAN AIR COUNTY PROGRAM MANAGER (CPM) EXPENDITURE PLANS

Ms. Schkolnick gave the staff presentation *Fiscal Year Ending 2021 Transportation Fund for Clean Air County Program Manager Expenditure Plans*, including: overview; background TFCA CPM program; proposed allocation for CPMs in FYE 2021; and recommended action.

## **Public Comments**

No requests received.

## **Committee Comments**

None.

#### **Committee Action**

Director Hudson made a motion, seconded by Director Wilson, to recommend that the Board **approve** the award of FYE 2021 Transportation Fund for Clean Air funds proposed in the CPM Expenditure Plans and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Canepa, Haggerty, Hudson, Jue, Kniss, Mitchoff, Rice, Sinks, Wilson.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None. ABSENT: Cutter.

#### 6. PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA MATTERS

No requests received.

#### 7. COMMITTEE MEMBER COMMENTS

Director Rice observed the 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of Earth Day.

Director Hudson said that the Air & Waste Management Association's (AWMA) 113<sup>th</sup> Annual Conference will be shifting to a virtual format, rather than physically taking place in San Francisco. Brian Bunger, District Counsel and AWMA President Elect, added that the 2022 Conference will resume in San Francisco.

#### 8. TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING

At the conclusion of the meeting, Chair Canepa announced that the next meeting would be held on Wednesday, May 27, 2020, at 11:00 a.m., via webcast, pursuant to procedures authorized by Executive Order N-29-20 issued by Governor Gavin Newsom. After the meeting adjourned, the next meeting was scheduled for Wednesday, May 20, 2020, at 9:30 a.m., via webcast, pursuant to procedures authorized by Executive Order N-29-20 issued by Governor Gavin Newsom.

#### 9. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 2:50 p.m.

/S/ Marcy Hiratzka
Marcy Hiratzka
Clerk of the Boards