Bay Area Air Quality Management District 375 Beale Street, Suite 600 San Francisco, California 94105 (415) 749-5073

APPROVED MINUTES

Summary of Board of Directors Climate Protection Committee Meeting Thursday, June 18, 2020

This meeting was conducted under procedures authorized by executive order N-29-20 issued by Governor Gavin Newsom. Members of the committee participated by teleconference.

1. CALL TO ORDER – ROLL CALL

Climate Protection Committee (Committee) Chairperson, Teresa Barrett, called the meeting to order at 11:30 a.m.

Present: Chairperson Teresa Barrett; Vice Chair John Gioia; and Directors Scott Haggerty, David Hudson, Davina Hurt, Liz Kniss, Katie Rice, Mark Ross, Brad Wagenknecht, and Shirlee Zane.

Absent: None.

Also Present: Board Chairperson Rod Sinks.

2. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF APRIL 22, 2020

Public Comments

No requests received.

Committee Comments

None.

Committee Action

Director Wagenknecht made a motion, seconded by Director Hudson, to **approve** the Minutes of April 22, 2020; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES:	Barrett, Gioia, Hudson, Rice, Ross, Wagenknecht, Zane.
NOES:	None.
ABSTAIN:	None.
ABSENT:	Haggerty, Hurt, Kniss, Sinks.

3. UPDATE ON HEAT PUMP WATER HEATER GRANTS

Greg Nudd, Deputy Air Pollution Control Officer of Policy, introduced Axum Teferra, Environmental Planner, who gave an update on the Air District's Climate Protection Grants to support heat pump water heater use as part of the Air District's Building Decarbonization Program. Several heat pump water heater projects that were funded through the Climate Protection Grant Program were presented by Jennifer West of Stop Waste, John Supp of Silicon Valley Clean Energy, and Leanna Huynh of the City of San Jose.

NOTED PRESENT: Board Chair Sinks and Director Kniss were noted present at 11:40 a.m., Director Haggerty was noted present at 11:45 a.m., and Director Hurt was noted present at 12:00 p.m.

Public Comments

Public comments were given by Leah-Louise Prescott, Rocky Mountain Institute; Jed Holtzman, 350 Bay Area; and Diane Bailey, Menlo Spark.

Committee Comments

The Committee and staff discussed the Bay Area Regional Energy Network's (BayREN) collaboration with the City of Palo Alto; whether the BayREN multi-family program applies to new construction, and best practices for electrifying new construction; whether the cost of upgrading residential electric panels for heat pumps is included in the StopWaste/BayREN Regional Heat Pump Water Heater program; the suggestion that the Air District researches the capacity of the average, existing Bay Area home's energy panels; whether StopWaste and BayREN are working with the East Bay Community Energy; results of the REACH code movement in Silicon Valley; the total cost for the 100 heat pump water heater units budgeted by Silicon Valley Clean Energy, and data about the applicants for those units; tankless water heaters; the need to prioritize disadvantaged communities and apply the Air District's limited funds there; the reality that natural gas is more affordable than electrification for many people, though it is not as clean; the suggestion of creating incentives that can assist low-income homeowners with electric retrofits, especially for emergency replacement needs; why the Air District chose to pilot water pumps instead of heat pumps; the need for region-wide messaging about the benefits of transitioning from natural gas to electric appliances; and the suggestion of providing tax credits for heat pump water heaters installations in multi-family dwellings.

Committee Action

None; receive and file.

4. PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA MATTERS

No requests received.

5. COMMITTEE MEMBER COMMENTS / OTHER BUSINESS

None.

6. TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING

At the conclusion of the meeting, the next meeting date was to be at the Call of the Chair. After the meeting adjourned, the next meeting was scheduled for Wednesday, September 30, 2020, at 9:30 a.m. via webcast, pursuant to procedures authorized by Executive Order N-29-20 issued by Governor Gavin Newson.

7. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 1:31 p.m.

15/ Marcy Hiratzka Marcy Hiratzka Clerk of the Boards