Bay Area Air Quality Management District 375 Beale Street, Suite 600 San Francisco, California 94105 (415) 749-5073

APPROVED MINUTES

Summary of Board of Directors Mobile Source Committee Meeting Thursday, April 26, 2018

1. CALL TO ORDER – ROLL CALL

Mobile Source Committee (Committee) Chairperson, Scott Haggerty, called the meeting to order at 9:34 a.m.

Present: Chairperson Scott Haggerty; Vice Chair David Canepa; and Directors

Margaret Abe-Koga, Pauline Russo Cutter, David Hudson, Nate Miley, and

Karen Mitchoff.

Absent: Directors Carole Groom, Tyrone Jue, Doug Kim, and Jim Spering.

Also Present: None.

2. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF FEBRUARY 22, 2018

Public Comments:

No requests received.

Committee Comments:

None.

Committee Action:

Vice Chair Canepa made a motion, seconded by Director Hudson, to approve the Minutes of February 22, 2018; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Canepa, Cutter, Haggerty, Hudson, and Mitchoff.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Abe-Koga, Groom, Jue, Kim, Miley, and Spering.

3. PROJECTS AND CONTRACTS WITH PROPOSED GRANT AWARDS OVER \$100,000

Karen Schkolnick, Strategic Incentives Division Director, introduced Mark Tang, Staff Specialist, who gave the staff presentation *Projects with Proposed Awards Over \$100,000*, including: overview; Carl Moyer Program (CMP), Mobile Source Incentive Fund (MSIF), Assembly Bill (AB) 134, and Transportation Fund for Clean Air (TFCA); CMP Year 19; CMP and MSIF funds awarded as of April 5, 2018 and since 2009; TFCA funds awarded by project category and county; Charge! Program summary; new California Air Resources Board (CARB) funding; and recommendations.

Public Comments:

Public comments were given by Richard Sinkoff, Port of Oakland; and James Rice, SSA Terminals.

Committee Comments:

The Committee and staff discussed the status of staff's efforts to identify the ideal locations to deploy DC fast-chargers for electric vehicles (EV), sub-regional location suggestions from Committee members, and whether car dealerships will be eligible for District-funded EV charging infrastructure; the request for exact locations of existing Bay Area EV charging stations (both funded by the District and funded by other sources); the status of all District EV initiatives, the public's desire for more information on EV resources, and how cities can best align their funds for sustainability projects with the District's goals and resources; the District's EV Coordinating Council; the SSA terminal (at the Port of Oakland) retrofit project application, and how the District would be funding that project with AB 134 funds, versus CMP funds; the suggestion that the District get involved with those that are deploying hydrogen refueling stations in California; and the need for EV charging technology that *fully* recharges vehicles overnight.

NOTED PRESENT: Director Abe-Koga was noted present at 9:45 a.m.

Committee Action:

Director Mitchoff made a motion, seconded by Vice Chair Canepa, to recommend that the Board approves staff recommendations; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Abe-Koga, Canepa, Cutter, Haggerty, Hudson, and Mitchoff.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Groom, Jue, Kim, Miley, and Spering.

4. FISCAL YEAR ENDING (FYE) 2019 TRANSPORTATION FUND FOR CLEAN AIR FUNDING ALLOCATION

Ms. Schkolnick introduced Chengfeng Wang, Strategic Incentives Division Manager, who gave the staff presentation FYE 2019 TFCA Funding Allocation, including: overview; TFCA

background; proposed FYE 2019 TFCA funding allocation; trip reduction; clean air vehicles; other Air District-sponsored programs; cost-effectiveness limits for Air District-sponsored programs; and recommendations.

NOTED PRESENT: Director Miley was noted present at 10:10 a.m.

Public Comments:

No requests received.

Committee Comments:

The Committee and staff discussed the types of shuttle and ridesharing projects that are funded by TFCA funds; the annual TFCA allocation for the District's vehicle Buy Back program; and how CARB's Enhanced Fleet Modernization Plus-up Program will incentivize lower-income motorists to scrap high-emitting vehicles and replace with cleaner options.

Committee Action:

Director Cutter made a motion, seconded by Director Abe-Koga, to recommend that the Board approves staff recommendations; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Abe-Koga, Canepa, Cutter, Haggerty, Hudson, Miley, and Mitchoff.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Groom, Jue, Kim, and Spering.

5. FISCAL YEAR ENDING 2019 TRANSPORTATION FUND FOR CLEAN AIR COUNTRY PROGRAM MANAGER (CPM) EXPENDITURE PLANS

Ms. Schkolnick introduced Linda Hui, Staff Specialist, who gave the staff presentation *FYE 2019 TFCA CPM Expenditure Plans*, including: overview; CPM program background; FYE 2019 funding for CMP; and recommendations.

Public Comments:

No requests received.

Committee Comments:

The Committee and staff discussed the status of the TFCA funds to be reprogrammed, based on funds available for reprogramming from prior-year CPM projects that were recently completed under budget or cancelled, and from any interest earned; legislative requirements, versus District rules, regarding TFCA funds allocated for the CMP; and whether TFCA funds may be used for "complete streets" improvement projects, which enable various modes of transportation to share infrastructure.

Committee Action:

Director Mitchoff made a motion, seconded by Vice Chair Canepa to recommend that the Board approves staff recommendations; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Abe-Koga, Canepa, Cutter, Haggerty, Hudson, Miley, and Mitchoff.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Groom, Jue, Kim, and Spering.

6. PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA MATTERS

No requests received.

7. COMMITTEE MEMBER COMMENTS

None.

8. TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the Mobile Source Committee meeting is scheduled for Thursday, May 24, 2018, Bay Area Air Quality Management District Office, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, California 94105 at 9:30 a.m.

9. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

/S/ Marcy Hiratzka
Marcy Hiratzka
Clerk of the Boards