Bay Area Air Quality Management District 375 Beale Street, Suite 600 San Francisco, California 94105 (415) 749-5073

APPROVED MINUTES

Summary of Board of Directors Legislative Committee Meeting Thursday, February 22, 2018

1. CALL TO ORDER – ROLL CALL

Legislative Committee (Committee) Chairperson, David Hudson, called the meeting to order at 11:03 a.m.

- Present: Chairperson David Hudson; and Directors Margaret Abe-Koga, David Canepa, Rebecca Kaplan, Karen Mitchoff, and Brad Wagenknecht.
- Absent: Vice-Chairperson Doug Kim; Directors John Gioia, and Shirlee Zane.
- Also Present: Board of Directors (Board) Member, Scott Haggerty (Chair Hudson invited him to vote.)

2. PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

No requests received.

3. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF MAY 11, 2017

Public Comments:

No requests received.

Committee Comments:

None.

Committee Action:

Director Canepa made a motion, seconded by Director Abe-Koga, to **approve** the minutes of May 11, 2017; and the motion **carried** by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES:	Abe-Koga, Canepa, Haggerty, Hudson, Kaplan, and Mitchoff.
NOES:	None.
ABSTAIN:	None.
ABSENT:	Gioia, Kim, Wagenknecht, and Zane.

4. CONSIDERATION OF NEW BILLS

Thomas Addison, Senior Policy Advisor, presented to the Committee a potential legislative agenda for 2018, recommended by Air District staff. Mr. Addison explained that the District's priority for 2018 is to secure adequate funding from the California Air Resources Board (CARB) to implement Assembly Bill (AB) 617, which passed in July 2017, and requires a wide variety of new obligations and substantial workload increase from the Air District.

Public Comments:

Public comments were made by Jed Holtzman, 350 Bay Area; and Bill Quinn, California Council for Environmental and Economic Balance.

Committee Comments:

The Committee and staff discussed how the California Air Pollution Control Officers Association also views this as a critical issue, and the need for a united front from all air districts in California; the probability of a potential budget trailer being introduced during the current Legislative session, to promote long-term, ongoing funding from CARB for the implementation of AB 617; the estimated dollar amount that this Air District will require per year; and how this District's air monitoring activities and collected data can lend themselves to this effort.

Committee Action:

Director Mitchoff made a motion, seconded by Director Kaplan, to **recommend** that the Board of Directors considers a legislative agenda for 2018 that focuses on securing state budget funding to cover the costs of the work that the Air District has been assigned under AB 617; and the motion **carried** by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES:	Abe-Koga, Canepa, Haggerty, Hudson, Kaplan, and Mitchoff.
NOES:	None.
ABSTAIN:	None.
ABSENT:	Gioia, Kim, Wagenknecht, and Zane.

5. CONSIDERATION OF NEW BILLS

Mr. Addison delivered the staff report *Consideration of New Bills*, including discussion and review of the following bills, issues, and recommended positions:

- SUPPORT IF AMENDED for Assembly Bill 1975 (Chu), which establishes the South Bay Interagency Odor Taskforce;
- SUPPORT for Assembly Bill 2008 (Salas), which excludes Carl Moyer grants from taxable income; and
- OPPOSITION to new and/or potential bills that use CalEnviroscreen as a funding allocation mechanism;
- OPPOSITION to any legislation regarding the composition of this Air District's Board of Directors that does not originate with the Board, but is instead proposed by others;
- OPPOSITION to budgetary proposals, initiated by the Department of Finance, to transfer fees (\$26 million annually) assessed on purchasers of new tires in the State of California, from the Carl Moyer program, to the Department of Fish and Wildlife.

 Upon discussion, there was a consensus of the Committee to recommend the OPPOSITION of Assembly Bill 1756 (Brough), which repeals Senate Bill (SB) 1 (transportation funding measure of 2017.)

Public Comments:

Public comments were made by Jed Holtzman, 350 Bay Area.

NOTED PRESENT: Director Wagenknecht was noted present at 11:36 a.m.

Committee Comments:

The Committee and staff discussed the development of, and the District's position on, SB 1, and the Committee's general consensus of opposing AB 1756; how much revenue would be lost by the state, were AB 2008 to pass, and whether alternative sources of revenue to offset that loss could be identified; the request for more details on bills authored by Bay Area legislators; the request for the CalEnviroScreen 3.0 version map of the Bay Area and a side-by-side comparison of that map and the District's frequently-used map that shows how overall air pollution is down but high risks remain in some communities; and the Committee's concerns regarding legislation that would change the composition of this Board.

Committee Action:

Director Canepa made a motion, seconded by Director Abe-Koga, to **approve** staff's recommendations to the Board of Directors; and the motion **carried** by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES:	Abe-Koga, Canepa, Kaplan, Mitchoff, and Wagenknecht.
NOES:	None.
ABSTAIN:	Hudson.
ABSENT:	Gioia, Haggerty, Kim, and Zane.

6. COMMITTEE MEMBERS' COMMENTS / OTHER BUSINESS

None.

7. TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING

Thursday, March 22, 2018, Bay Area Air Quality Management District office, 375 Beale Street, 1st floor Board Room, San Francisco, CA 94105, at 9:30 a.m.

8. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 12:07 p.m.

/S/ Marcy Hiratzka

Marcy Hiratzka Clerk of the Boards