Bay Area Air Quality Management District

375 Beale Street, Suite 600 San Francisco, California 94105 (415) 749-5073

APPROVED MINUTES

Summary of Board of Directors Ad Hoc Refinery Oversight Committee Meeting Monday, April 9, 2018

1. CALL TO ORDER – ROLL CALL

Ad Hoc Refinery Oversight Committee (Committee) Chairperson, Cindy Chavez, called the meeting to order at 9:36 a.m.

Present: Committee Chairperson, Cindy Chavez; and Directors Margaret Abe-Koga, and

Rod Sinks.

Absent: Vice Chairperson Nate Miley; and Directors Pauline Russo Cutter, Carole

Groom, Hillary Ronen, Mark Ross, Pete Sanchez, Jim Spering, and Shirlee Zane.

Also Present: Board of Directors (Board) Chairperson, David Hudson.

2. UPDATE ON THE ROLE OF THE AD HOC REFINERY OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE, BACKGROUND ON REFINERY OPERATIONS, AND APPLICABLE REGULATIONS IN THE BAY AREA

Jack P. Broadbent, Executive Officer/Air Pollution Control Officer, and Nicholas Maiden, Principal Air Quality Engineer, gave the staff presentation *Update on the Role of the Ad Hoc Refinery Committee*, *Background on Refinery Operations, and Applicable Regulations in the Bay Area*, including: Committee purpose; Air District staff and Board roles; refinery criteria emissions; types of permits; Bay Area petroleum refineries; crude oil; Canadian crude oil imports; petroleum refining; what are some emission sources; applicable Air District regulations; Regulation 11-18; and Regulation 12-15.

Public Comments:

Public comments were given by Andres Soto, Communities for a Better Environment (CBE); Perry Matlock, Indian People Organizing for Change (IPOC); Richard Gray, 350 Bay Area; Quanah Parker Brightman, United Native Americans; Tom Bertino, San Rafael resident; Gary Hughes, Friends of the Earth US; Pennie Opal Plant, Idle No More SF Bay; and Irene Dick-Endrizzi, San Francisco resident.

Committee Comments:

The Committee and staff discussed the circumstances that led to the need for this committee, the request for delineation between roles of this committee and the Stationary Source Committee on the District website, how Board members were selected to serve on this committee, and the clarification that this committee makes recommendations directly to the Board; and the concern that only three of the eleven Committee members were present.

3. PROJECT OVERVIEW AND PERMIT STATUS OF BAY AREA REFINERY PROJECTS

Damian Breen, Deputy Air Pollution Control Officer, introduced Carol Lee, Senior Air Quality Engineer, who gave the staff presentation *Project Overview and Permit Status of Bay Area Refinery Projects*, including: presentation overview; Tesoro refinery in Martinez and Low Carbon Intensity Fluid Catalytic Cracking Unit Feed project; Phillips 66 refinery in Rodeo, unicracker project description and permit impacts, Marine Terminal project description, permit challenges, CEQA, and comments received; refineries in the Bay Area; Title V renewal applications; and how does the public access more information.

Public Comments:

Public comments were given by Greg Karras, CBE; Richard Gray, 350 Bay Area; Alberto Saldamando, Indigenous Environmental Network; Nancy Rieser, Crockett Rodeo United to Defend the Environment; Jeff Kilbreth, Richmond Progressive Alliance; Ben Eichenberg, San Francisco Baykeeper; David McCoard, Sierra Club; Mariah Lazalde, Youth Vs. Apocalypse; Carolyn Noor, 350 Bay Area; Steve Nadel, Sunflower Alliance; Andrew Bear, Buddhist Climate Action Network; Shayanne Hendricks, Amazon Watch; Sheridan Noelani Enomoto, Greenaction for Health and Environmental Justice (GHEJ); Nancy Feinstein, 1000 Grandmothers; Gary Hughes, Friends of the Earth US; Pennie Opal Plant, Idle No More SF Bay; Barbara Rhine, Idle No More; Julie Carter, California Nurses Association; Charles Davidson, Sunflower Alliance; Camille Stough, CBE; Perry Matlock, IPOC; Anita Kline, San Francisco resident, Adriana Diaz-Flores, CBE; Amy Hutto, Idle No More; Amanda Bloom, Idle No More; Niria Alicia, GHEJ; Briana Ruiz, Idle No More; Josselyn Torres, Idle No More; Lysandra Nelson, Idle No More; Karen Flittie, Idle No More; Mara Chavez, Idle No More; Jennifer Brass, Idle No More; Isabella Zizi, Idle No More; Claire Schoen, 1000 Grandmothers; Allison Ehara-Brown, Idle No More; Paul Ehara, Richmond resident; Richard Bell, El Cerrito Progressives; Daniel Ilario, Idle No More; Tyler Earl, CBE; Zolboo Namkhaidorj, CBE; Natasha Dedrick, San Francisco resident; Lynn Eggers, San Francisco resident; Joanna Harman, Petaluma 350.org; and Norm Sands, Idle No More.

Committee Comments:

The Committee and staff discussed the possibility of Contra Costa County taking over the District's current role of California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) lead agency for the Phillips 66 Marine Terminal project, and the District's preference for that transition; the request for an explanation of the permitting authority within the District's discretion, including how Regulation 12-15 (Petroleum Refining Emissions Tracking) applies; whether tar sands are coming to the Bay Area, or have already arrived in the Bay Area (and where); the concern that staff

presentation time durations are being compromised to accommodate large volumes of public comment speakers; the suggestion that representatives from the Association of Bay Area Governments and the Bay Area Regional Collaborative be invited to these meetings, or request that this item be presented at other regional agencies' meetings; the need to use the 2017 Clean Air Plan to address regional energy in partnership with other local government jurisdictions and community choice agencies and create a shared policy framework around purchasing and procurement strategies; and the shift from fossil fuels to sustainable alternative fuel sources.

Committee Action:

None; receive and file.

4. PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA MATTERS

Public comments were given by Jan Warren, Interfaith Climate Action Network of Contra Costa County; and Jimmy Mankind, Poets of Frisco.

5. COMMITTEE MEMBER COMMENTS

None.

6. TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING

The next Ad Hoc Refinery Oversight Committee meeting will be at the call of the Chair.

7. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 12:43 p.m.

/S/ Marcy Hiratzka
Marcy Hiratzka
Clerk of the Boards