Bay Area Air Quality Management District 375 Beale Street, Suite 600 San Francisco, California 94105 (415) 749-5073

APPROVED MINUTES

Summary of Board of Directors Mobile Source Committee Meeting Thursday, October 26, 2017

1. CALL TO ORDER - ROLL CALL

Mobile Source Committee (Committee) Chairperson, Karen Mitchoff, called the meeting to order at 9:36 a.m.

Present: Chairperson Karen Mitchoff; Vice Chair Scott Haggerty; and Directors David J.

Canepa, David Hudson, Rebecca Kaplan, Doug Kim, and Nate Miley.

Absent: Directors Carole Groom and Tyrone Jue.

Also Present: None.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA MATTERS

No requests received.

3. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF SEPTEMBER 28, 2017

Public Comments:

No requests received.

Committee Comments:

None.

Committee Action:

Director Hudson made a motion, seconded by Director Kaplan, to approve the Minutes of September 28, 2017; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Canepa, Hudson, Kaplan, Kim, and Mitchoff.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Groom, Jue, Haggerty, and Miley.

4. PROJECTS AND CONTRACTS WITH PROPOSED GRANT AWARDS OVER \$100,000

Karen Schkolnick, Strategic Incentives Division Director, introduced Ken Mak, Acting Supervising Staff Specialist, who gave the staff presentation *Projects with Proposed Awards Over* \$100,000, including: overview; background; proposed projects with awards over \$100,000; Transportation Fund for Clean Air (TFCA) funds awarded by project category and county; and recommendations.

Public Comments:

No requests received.

Committee Comments:

The Committee and staff discussed how the five projects in this presentation only use \$3 million dollars of the \$29 million dollars allocated to the FYE 2018 TFCA Program; the status of the District's new Trip-Reduction pilot program for CARE communities, and the methods of outreach the District is using to inform the public, technology providers, and Congestion Management Agencies (CMA.)

NOTED PRESENT: Committee Vice Chair Scott Haggerty was noted present at 9:43 a.m.

Committee Action:

Director Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Director Hudson, to approve staff recommendations; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Canepa, Hudson, Kaplan, Kim, and Mitchoff.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Groom, Jue, Haggerty, and Miley.

5. TRANSPORTATION FUND FOR CLEAN AIR COUNTY PROGRAM MANAGER (CPM) FUND POLICIES FOR FISCAL YEAR ENDING (FYE) 2019 AND A REQUEST FOR A WAIVER FOR FYE 2018 CPM POLICIES FROM SAN FRANCISCO COUNTY TRANSPORTATION AGENCY

Ms. Schkolnick introduced Linda Hui, Staff Specialist, who gave the staff presentation *TFCA County Program Manager (CPM) Policies for Fiscal Year Ending (FYE) 2019*, including: overview; background; TFCA CPM fund policies for FYE 2019; policy waiver request overview; and recommendations.

Public Comments:

Public comments were given by Mike Pickford, San Francisco County Transportation Agency.

Committee Comments:

The Committee and staff discussed whether Congestion Management Agency Program Managers may use existing policies under electric vehicle (EV) infrastructure for private charging stations; the District's plan to amend existing TFCA CPM general policies for the TFCA CPM FYE 2019 program so that vehicles may be replaced with vehicles from a different weight class, prompted by the waiver request from the San Francisco County Transportation Authority (SFCTA) for the TFCA CPM FYE 2018 program; what would happen to the medium-heavy duty diesel vehicle in question if the waiver is granted to SFCTA; the number of vehicles that are allowed to be traded per each one that subject to the waiver; concern about the implications of waiving policy; the frequency of waiver requests and the annual deadline for waiver requests; the Committee's request that staff consult with the Alameda County Transportation Commission to determine if an extension was necessary for a waiver granted to them for the fiscal year ending FYE 2017 TFCA CPM policies; the length of time it takes to amend TFCA CPM general policies; and how TFCA CPM projects have evolved since 1991, due to changing technology.

Committee Action:

Vice Chair Haggerty made a motion, seconded by Director Hudson, to approve staff recommendations; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Canepa, Haggerty, Hudson, Kaplan, Kim, Miley, and Mitchoff.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Groom and Jue.

6. ACCEPT, OBLIGATE, AND EXPEND FUNDING FROM THE CALIFORNIA AIR RESOURCES BOARD (CARB), METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION (MTC), AND BAY AREA CLEAN AIR FOUNDATION

Damian Breen, Deputy Air Pollution Control Officer, introduced Ms. Schkolnick, who gave the staff report, *Accept, Obligate, and Expend Funding from the California Air Resources Board (CARB), Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC), and Bay Area Clean Air Foundation (BACAF)*, including: overview; background; CARB Enhanced Fleet Modernization Plus-Up Program; MTC Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Funding; BACAF Reformulated Gas Funding (RFG); and recommendations.

Public Comments:

No requests received.

Committee Comments:

The Committee and staff discussed whether the West Oakland community, like the Port of Oakland, has been asked to contribute to the \$1.3 million-dollar match required for the RFG funding; the suggestion of an EV charging station incentive program for single family homes, based upon the price of the EVs, as opposed to the household's total income; the suggestion that District staff work with EV manufacturers to provide free electric charging opportunities to low-

income EV owners so that they can afford to upgrade to the fast-charge EV models; why hydrogen-powered vehicle projects are not currently being considered by the District for the three new awards; the lack of and need for higher voltage classes in existing infrastructure to charge EVs; and the suggestion that the District creates incentives for households who are already off the grid, and are using solar to charge their EVs.

Committee Action:

Vice Chair Haggerty made a motion, seconded by Director Canepa, to approve staff recommendations; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Canepa, Haggerty, Hudson, Kaplan, Kim, Miley, and Mitchoff.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Groom and Jue.

7. COMMITTEE MEMBER COMMENTS

None.

8. TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING

Thursday, December 7, 2017, Bay Area Air Quality Management District office, 375 Beale Street, 1st floor Board Room, San Francisco, CA 94105, at 9:30 a.m.

9. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 10:42 a.m.

/S/ Marcy Hiratzka
Marcy Hiratzka
Clerk of the Boards