Bay Area Air Quality Management District 939 Ellis Street San Francisco, California 94109 (415) 749-5073

APPROVED MINUTES

Summary of Board of Directors Executive Committee Meeting Monday, December 16, 2013

1. Call to Order – Roll Call

Chairperson Ash Kalra called the meeting to order at 9:40 a.m.

Present: Chairperson Ash Kalra; Vice-Chairperson Nate Miley; and Directors Tom

Bates, Carole Groom, Scott Haggerty, Mary Piepho, Mark Ross and Brad

Wagenknecht.

Absent: Director John Gioia.

Also Present: None.

2. **Public Comment Period:** None.

3. Approval of the Minutes of October 21, 2013

Executive Committee (Committee) Comments: None.

Public Comments: None.

Committee Action:

Director Ross made a motion to approve the Minutes of October 21, 2013; Director Wagenknecht seconded; and the motion carried unanimously.

4. Senate Bill (SB) 1339 – Bay Area Commuter Benefits Program

Jean Roggenkamp, Deputy Air Pollution Control Officer (DAPCO), introduced David Burch, Principal Environmental Planner of Planning, Rules and Research Division, who gave the staff presentation *Bay Area Commuter Benefits Program* (Program), including the purpose of the Program, the four commuter benefit options that employers could choose among, applicability of the Program, program implementation efforts, recent progress, employer outreach and public workshops, input received, recent progress, preparations for implementation, and next steps.

NOTED PRESENT: Director Haggerty and Vice-Chairperson Miley were noted present at 9:41 a.m.

NOTED PRESENT: Director Piepho was noted present at 9:45 a.m.

Committee Comments:

The Committee and staff discussed the availability of examples for employers to ease implementation of the four commuter benefit options; whether the pilot program is mandatory; workshop attendance levels; possible ways to satisfy Option 4: Alternative commuter benefit; the number of employers affected in each county; the role of telecommuting within the Program; possible system abuse; the enforcement philosophy of the Air District; research on the likely economic impact, such as gas tax revenue and impacts on business; plans for tracking participation; the importance of the Program as another tool to relieve traffic congestion but one that will require different handling in each county, preferably in conjunction with the local congestion management agencies in lead roles; the existence of a similar program in the City of Berkeley that has been successful; the primacy for the Air District of a clean air agenda over diminished tax base concerns; Program cost; employer ability to opt out of the program; and clarification of Option 2: Direct subsidy for transit or vanpool.

Director Piepho requested a copy or summary of SB 1339 be provided at the next Committee meeting.

Chairperson Kalra requested that cost data be included in the next staff report on the Program and that staff provide outreach materials to the members of the Board of Directors (Board), including a short PowerPoint presentation that walks viewers through the process of program compliance and provides examples of positive solutions by employers.

Public Comments: None.

Committee Action: None; informational only.

5. Regional Agency Headquarters Status Report

Jack Broadbent, Executive Officer/Air Pollution Control Officer (APCO), introduced Mary Ann Okpalaugo, Manager of Administrative Services, who gave the staff presentation *Regional Agency Headquarters Status Report 375 Beale Street*, through slide 4, with the exception of that portion relative to the financial plan and sale of 939 Ellis Street at slide 2, as given by Jeffrey McKay, DAPCO.

The Committee and staff discussed the furniture procurement process and shared business operations relating to reception.

Steven Wolf, Bay Area Headquarters Authority, gave the remainder of the staff presentation, including diagrams of the planned building, photographs of the demolition work, and a construction timetable.

Terri Green, Metropolitan Transportation Commission, clarified the intended the level of visitor screening by lobby security.

The Committee, staff and visiting presenters discussed at various points during Mr. Wolf's presentation the seating limits in the board room and overflow space, whether and how the board room seating is tiered, how presentations will be viewed by Board members, the impact on staff that collaborative shared space will have, and the integration of the varying human resources programs and policies of the resident agencies within a shared space.

Committee Comments:

The Committee and staff discussed the order of the itemized construction schedule and the parking facilities.

Public Comments: None.

Committee Action: None; informational only.

6. Joint Policy Committee Update

Chairperson Kalra introduced Allison Brooks, Director, Bay Area Joint Policy Committee (JPC), who provided her career biography and plans relative to the JPC, including the Sustainable Communities Strategy (SCS), regional economic development, and sea level rise/climate adaptation strategies.

Committee Comments:

The Committee and staff discussed the proper role of the Air District relative to the development and adoption of the SCS, including legal risk, the Air District's role and jurisdiction within the broader regulatory scheme, the role of considerations relative to economic development and the Air District focus on science over other concerns, the tension of competing interests as a breeding ground for creative solutions, and the Air District's leadership role relative to climate change concerns.

Director Piepho requested that Ms. Brooks submit a formal proposal of items for consideration.

Public Comments: None.

Committee Action: None; informational only.

7. Committee Member Comments/Other Business:

The Committee and staff discussed the outstanding Committee request for a greater level of detail in the minutes.

8. Time and Place of Next Committee Meeting:

Monday, January 20, 2014, Bay Area Air Quality Management District Headquarters, 939 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 at 9:30 a.m.

9. Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at 11:20 a.m.

151 Sean Gallagher

Sean Gallagher Clerk of the Boards